Australia World Cup Squad

Australia announced T20 squad for Sri Lanka and Pakistan

Cricket News

Australia announced a T20 squad for a back-to-back three-match home series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan. The series scheduled to begin on October 27, 2019.

Considering the upcoming T20I World Cup, Australia selectors laying the road from this series. They picked Steve Smith nearly after three and a half years for a T20 squad. Smith will join hands with David Warner, Pat Cummins, Maxwell, and the squad will be led by Aaron Finch while Alex Carey and Cummins will share vice-captaincy.

The Australian selectors dropped Marcus Stoinis, Chris Lynn, D'Arcy Short, and the spinner Nathan Lyon and roped Ashton Agar, Billy Stanlake, and Adam Zampa in.

The National selector Trevor Hohns says: "It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men's Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind".

"We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament. The squad we have selected is quite role-specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions."

Upon the selection of batsman, Hohns says: "In terms of batsmen, we have selected top and middle-order specialists. The likes of Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner, and Carey provide us excellent options through the middle-order after Finch, Warner, and Smith."

Selection of bowling department, Hohns says: "In terms of spinners, we feel like the all-round package Ashton Agar possesses is irresistible at the moment and Adam Zampa has proven to be a very good T20 bowler in all conditions."

"We're also confident in the potency and flexibility of our fast bowling group. Mitchell Starc gives us a left-arm option and has earned a reputation as one of the world's leading quicks at the top of the innings and at the death."

"Pat Cummins is a world-class right-arm option and has been in superb form of late. Andrew Tye is a wicket-taking proposition, Billy Stanlake has the X-factor and Kane Richardson has been an excellent short-form player for some time now," he concludes.

T20I vs Sri Lanka

First T20I October 27, 2019Adelaide Oval
Second T20I October 30, 2019Gabba
Third T20I November 1, 2019MCG

Quick Link: Sri Lanka announced their T20 squad for Australia.

T20I vs Pakistan

First T20I November 3, 2019SCG
Second T20I November 5, 2019Manuka Oval
Third T20I November 8, 2019Perth Stadium

Australia T20 Squad

BatsmanAaron Finch (C),
Steve Smith,
David Warner
Wicket-KeeperAlex Carey,
Ben McDermott
All-RounderGlenn Maxwell
BowlerAshton Agar,
Pat Cummins,
Kane Richardson,
Billy Stanlake,
Mitchell Starc